work organisation

Well, hey there, it’s been awhile. I haven’t been doing a great job of keeping this blog of mine updated this year, although that was my main intention this year. I have been busy though. Work has been insane, oh and did I mention that I also got married last month? Yup, it was a short but sweet ceremony at the registry office followed by a picnic in the parklands with close family and friends. The weather held out, and we had a blast! I’d definitely do it again – the picnic, not the marriage!

That aside, I thought today I’d share with you my work planning/organisation tools. I’m an itinerant speech-language pathologist (SLP), so organisation is paramount to making my life stress-free when I travel from one location to another. I visit each location anywhere from 3-6 times every ten week term, and see an average of 10-12 clients at each location at any given time. Because of confidentiality reasons, I can’t publish/post any pictures, documents or information that can identify where I work and the people I see. This means that this post with be text heavy, and the examples I post have been recreated using simple Microsoft Word software.

For each location, I have a binder with tabs and plastic sleeves for necessary documentation, and a small notebook for those times when I need to explain something to a client. I take this binder with me on the days that I’m assigned to a particular location and it’s a nice springboard for that day’s work.

I also have a base location, where I have 3 trays. The top tray is my Inbox, filled with actions that need to be completed that week. The middle tray is anything that needs to be filed away. The bottom tray holds the recesses of my mind… no, I’m joking, but really it’s filled with things that I can’t find a home for because I have a tiny office that I share with 6 people. The base location office is filled with every SLP resource known to humankind. I had the pleasure of stocktaking and organising the shelves, etc., a few months ago. I know, right? It was the best day ever! Moving right along…

My every day must-haves in my work bag (apart from the essentials) are my weekly planner pages (made by me) and a Piccadilly notebook for bullet journalling. Below is a recreated sample of my weekly planner pages

Work planner - weeklyI made this using Microsoft Publisher, printed out the pages back-to-back, and bound them together (Google ‘bookbinding techniques’ and there is vast array of tutorials that will occupy you for months!). I also bought a few plastic sleeves from Daiso that I bound as part of my planner. The numbers at the top represent the months of the year, and I’ve highlighted ’10’ on this for October. I left the dates empty and wrote these down after I bound my book. I also write my location to the right hand side to remind myself where I’m going for that day. I usually do this months in advance. I then write the hours I’ve worked on the first line, so completing my timesheet at the end of the week is easier. Each day is separated into three columns which represent morning, afternoon and evening (or late afternoon, as I like to call it). This is where I write the clients that I’m seeing, and the bottom part, I usually save for any reminders.

This is a recreated example of my bullet journal

Work planner - bullet journalI have kept the bullets to a minimum, choosing to use the squares for tasks, circles for appointments/meetings/etc., and filled dot for notes. I don’t use the arrow for task migration, instead opt for highlighting anything that needs to be carried over to the following location visit. This has been extremely good for me to use because it’s also served as a clinical journal for the entire year, and great to jog my memory for the next visit. Also sometimes, I don’t have enough admin time to update progress notes for client files, and this has been super handy for those times. I have various other notations and profession-specific abbreviations, but I’ve outlined the most relevant.

So there you have it, my work organisation. I have other sheets and logbooks related to work that I’ll share later on. These are the bare bones of my planning. How do you manage your workload?

dm

 

Penny for your thoughts?

