it’s in the bag!

One of my life goals is to live in a clutter-free and minimalist personal space. I know all the parents out there are probably laughing at me right now, but I figured that if I can keep my personal space minimal, there’s more room for the kiddies, right? :) So far, I’ve managed to minimise my daily/work organisation/planning to my bullet journal, after many failed attempts (not to mention $$++) on other organising systems, such as Filofaxes, PDAs, and the like. I used to carry around a massive handbag, which probably weighed half of my body weight, and over the last year or so I’ve managed to get it down to the bare minimum… well, with some added luxuries. Behold, my bag contents!

Inthebag

  1. Piccadilly bullet journal + randomness
  2. journal bought from Daiso (sometimes in the bag, sometimes not)
  3. business cards, or as my friends like to call it, “the western name card” after the traditional Japanese meiji cards haha
  4. Koh-I-Noor woodless colour pencils bought in Berlin 7 years ago for random art sketches in primary colours (love these pencils!)
  5. my makeshift pencil case – yes, it’s in a ziplock bag. Saves me from searching through it to find one item. There is a method to my madness!
  6. Kleenex
  7. Lucas Pawpaw ointment – I live by this stuff <3
  8. various drugs for headaches and allergies
  9. (L-R) hand sanitiser, perfume atomiser, chewing gum
  10. wallet
  11. Monster earphones, courtesy of my audiologist fiance. BEST earphones by far! Noise-cancelling at its finest :)

I tend to chop and change my bags every few weeks, but at the moment, I’m using a small-medium backpack (approx, 30cm x 30cm x 20cm) to carry these items around daily. I’m a very visual person, so when I find the urge/need, I will draw or sketch, or write, hence, so many writing implements. What I like about not having so many things to carry around is that it’s easier for me to choose those items I need for each occasion. For instance, if I’m going out with the ladies, I take items 6,7, 8,9,10 and 3 (you never know who’ll you meet!) and leave the rest at home.

I found this website the other day, and people share their bag contents. It’s so fascinating to see what everyone carries around and it definitely suits the occupations they have. I like the question, “What’s the most surprising thing you carry?“. I don’t think I have anything as amazing as ‘an 8-item, life-saving birth kit’, but I do get a few strange looks in the ladies’ restrooms when I take out my perfume atomiser. It looks like ‘a shiny purple sex toy‘ as one person described it. Haha!

What’s the most surprising thing you carry in your bag?

One thought on “it’s in the bag!

Penny for your thoughts?

