high school, a lifetime ago

It’s Monday. Again. I’ll spare you the complaints about unemployment this morning. In fact, I’ll spare you those for the week! Ha!

We had a pretty low key weekend. I went to my first personal training session on Saturday morning, after almost two years of living the sedentary academic lifestyle. Let’s just leave it at that, and the fact that it still hurts to sit. I have a pilates session on Tuesday that I’m going to go to despite any sort of pain I’m in. I’ve resolved to not making excuses to go to gym and exercise. I used to run 10km every day, for heaven’s sake!

On Sunday, we went to brunch at one of BugLite’s high school friend’s place. They’d just purchased their home last year and we were coming over for a catch up (and for me to have my fortnightly baby fix haha!). They had also invited another couple, and one of them was someone I went to high school with. It took almost an hour before it both clicked that we went to the same school. In our defense, our senior year consisted of 250+ girls (yup, all girls’ school), and even now, when I’ve bumped into someone who recognises me from high school, I have to stop and think really hard who she is. So much so that sometimes I don’t even listen to what they’re saying to me, because I’m that distracted in my head trying to match up the face with some mental schema of how to remember her name! I’d love to see what dopey face I was making on Sunday when this was happening. I’ve been told my “I’m-so-tired-I-need-some-food-before-I-gnaw-off-my-arm” face looks more like “I’m-stoned-and-need-a-snack!” face. But, moving along…

I realised that I haven’t really kept in touch with many of my high school friends or classmates, and I didn’t attend any of the high school reunions that were organised in Brisbane and London. Maybe I just didn’t really place high school as any sort of massive significance in my life, although it’s always pleasant to catch up with someone from that lifetime when I do bump into them.

What was high school like for you?

dm

Penny for your thoughts?

